Skip to content

First list of O-SIIs published

On 25 April 2016, the EBA published a consolidated list of other systemically important institutions (O-SIIs) across the EU, also known as domestic systemically important banks (D-SIBs).

The list contains close to 200 institutions, with the majority of member states imposing an additional O-SII buffer under CRD IV to reflect their systemic importance. This buffer can be as high as 2.00% of the total risk exposure amount, consisting of Common Equity Tier 1 capital.

By way of exception, the O-SIIs identified by the PRA[1] in the United Kingdom will not be subject to such a buffer, but should instead face enhanced supervision, including on recovery and resolution planning.

An updated list will be disclosed annually.

[1] The consultation paper of the PRA on the O-SIIs is discussed here, the final Policy Statement is available here

Contact Us
Press enter or esc to cancel